Day 19: Lunches with I.

I’m sitting at the big wooden table, planning out our morning meetings for the week after spring break, while I. picks at his food and doodles a dinosaur on a post-it.

He first requested to have lunch in the classroom with me a month ago. He wasn’t hungry but he had a few bites. We talked a bit. He worked on his cover for the informational writing piece we were publishing.

Since then, he’s asked to come every day.

“Why does I. eat in the classroom?” All the other kids ask.

His reason, if you ask him, is that all the boys talk about is Fortnite, and since I. doesn’t play Fortnite, he can’t participate in the conversation.

“What would you prefer to talk about?” I asked him that first day.

“Literally ANYTHING else,” he said, his eyes widening. “But whenever I try to change the topic, they end up going back to Fortnite!”

I think it’s not just about Fortnite. I think he also prefers the quiet. A pause in the overwhelming social activity and noise of the day. The cafeteria can get pretty loud, especially with this group of 5th graders. They all talk over one another.

“Ms. Amy, name an animal?” I. interrupts my slice writing.

“Um…” I think. “A panda.”

He looks off to think, then gets back to doodling.

These are my lunch periods now. Me and I., sitting in silence or listening to soft music while we both work at something.

I’ll get back to it.

7 responses to “Day 19: Lunches with I.”

  1. This sounds like it is working well enough for both of you. What a gift to offer a student – a peaceful space in a busy day. “Me and I., sitting in silence or listening to soft music while we both work at something.” I get the impression that although it might be considered an inconvenience for some, you recognize the benefit for your student and willingly offer him that possibility of sanctuary from interminable Fortnite chatter.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s definitely one of my daily highlights! And that chatter is truly interminable.

      Like

  2. The cafeteria is SO NOISY. I love that he knows what he needs and THANK YOU for giving up your time to give that to him. He’ll remember this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope so 🥹

      Like

  3. I LOVE this! You are providing such a calming space for this student, and they clearly greatly appreciate. The music, you two working side by side, it’s really lovely. Thank you for being such a great teacher!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for this kind comment!! 🥹

      Liked by 1 person

  4. YOU are a magnificent teacher to observe the need and find a way to meet it. KUDOS to you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started