Day 18: Music

Anaā€™s post inspired me to think about music and its importance in my life. Iā€™m not driving like she was, but I am sitting in the back of a Lyft on my way home from a doctorā€™s appointment, and Iā€™m listening to your second mix and the songs that already wrap me up in a hug and make me feel nostalgic for this present moment, holding onto it with all my might.

Iā€™m lucky to have grown up not just around great music, but with a father who is a musician. My dad taught himself to play guitar when he was a kid. He never took formal lessons and only learned to read music when he was much older.

My dad is already instilling a love of music in my nephew

My whole childhood was soundtracked by my dadā€™s acoustic strumming and picking. Whether he was playing a Beatlesā€™ song or narrating what we were doing in the kitchen (do my random made-up songs make sense yet?), music was the backdrop of my life.

I can get into any kind of music, from folk to reggaeton, pop to rock and roll, disco to jazz. But my favorite kind of music is the kind I can sing to. I learned many instruments over the years ā€” piano first, then clarinet, and later guitar ā€” but never stuck with any. My voice is my instrument that never leaves me. Itā€™s not a voice for solos or belting out ballads with key changes (though sometimes in the shower it is). But itā€™s a voice that can hit most notes, a voice that finds joy in singing along to melodies and harmonies.

Some of my students think Iā€™m weird and some think Iā€™m amazing for singing to them on the daily (thank you, D, for being my backup singer when Iā€™m belting out Taylor Swift). Singing when Iā€™m stressed because they really need to get a move on so we can get to the next class on time. Singing when Iā€™m feeling extra silly, narrating what theyā€™re doing like my dad did with me and my sister and my mom.

ā€œWarning Signā€ just came on and thatā€™s how I know this slice is done: because two summers ago, Ana and I sat at the top of the Raymond James stadium and held back tears of joy and wonder and disbelief when Coldplay took the stage. I get down out of the car but the music keeps playing in my headphones.

Pure joy!

3 responses to “Day 18: Music”

  1. I am always fascinated by people who don’t have much music in your life. I loved reading about the different ways music shows up in yours. And also I’m envious of your musical ability!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know!! Music is so important.

      Like

  2. (do my random made-up songs make sense yet?)

    OMG, YES! Thank your dad for me.

    Also, you and I were meant to drive to Tampa together, eat donuts, and climb all those stairs to create such joyful memory!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started