Day 14: Overnight

Today we’re taking the 5th graders to the Kennedy Space Center for an overnight trip. About 4 hours north on a charter bus with a stop on the way to stretch our legs and have a snack, check in by 3:30, explore the space center all afternoon and evening, lights out by 10:30, wake up at 6:30, some more morning exploration, and then back in Miami tomorrow by 4pm.

Maybe it’s the time of year, maybe it’s the behavior lately, maybe it’s the excitement that the kids haven’t been able to contain since they found out about it a month ago, maybe it’s the responsibility of taking sixteen 10- and 11-year-olds four hours from home for a learning experience, yes, but mainly a giant sleepover, but I’ve been pretty much waiting for this trip to be behind us. The dread has been palpable. You can see it on my face and in my body language.

“I’m a super heavy sleeper,” Z shared at dismissal. “When I’ve slept at M’s house and her phone was beeping, I didn’t wake up at ALL.”

“Me too,” J chimed in.

“Ms. Amy, what are you going to do with your hair? Mine looks CRAZY in the mornings,” R had shared at recess earlier.

“I don’t think I should know about their sleep habits!” I said, exasperated, to Kim and some other coworkers on the elevator back upstairs, to some nervous laughter.

But then last night as I packed, and this morning as I’m typing this and taking bites of my yogurt and granola, I want to readjust my perspective.

Let’s be real.

What are these fifth graders going to remember from their last year in elementary school?

Not my amazing writing or math lessons. Not the way we transitioned through the halls or our morning routine.

No. They’re going to remember what happened with their friends at recess and lunch. They’re going to remember the show they put on for their parents this past Monday. And they’re certainly going to remember this overnight field trip.

So I’m flipping the script. I’m going to try to enjoy myself on this trip and make sure the kids get the most out of it, too. I’m there with 4 other adults (Kim, Male, Christian, and one of our students’ moms). If anything goes haywire, we’ve got it. We have food, we have a first aid kit, we’ve all packed our sleeping bags and blow up sleeping mats.

All that’s left is to have fun.

10 responses to “Day 14: Overnight”

  1. I think you are ready for the adventure ahead. THIS IS what they will remember at the end of this year and 10 years from now. I’ve done it. It is hard. It is a long two days. Likely, someone will act up or get sick or be homesick. Likely, there will be more laughter, giggles, and sillies than you have ever seen or heard before. Yet, you are making the kind of memories that will last. Prayers for a great trip.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Anita, thank you — I needed to hear this! We’re already on the bus and I’m breathing through my anxiety a bit 😅 This helped so much.

      Like

  2. It sounds like a great trip! I hope you’ll write about it when you get back. My teaching partners and I took 4th graders to the Indiana Dunes for outdoor ed for years. I dreaded it the first year, but it was awesome beyond anything I could imagine. I hope you’ll have a similar experience!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hope it will be full of good memories (and lots of calm!). I used to work at a high school that took the students for an overnight retreat twice a year, and it was really daunting to be in charge of a large group of 12th-graders and try to make sure no one got up to anything they shouldn’t be doing! I did NOT like having my sleep disrupted either. But there were such strong connections forged on those trips…good memories for me too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If you can survive and enjoy a trip with 12th graders, I certainly can with 5th! Thank you for your well wishes 🥰

      Like

  4. Have a great time. I’m coming off a trip where we also tried to “flip the script.” It makes such a difference when you can join in that excitement and curiosity. The 24/7 responsibility can make it tough if you’re doing multiple nights, but you’re right, good or bad, these trips leave lasting memories

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We’re lucky that it’s only 1 night, but we’re already enjoying ourselves so much! Thank you for your well wishes!!

      Like

  5. Wishing you a smooth(ish) and memorable trip. You’re right – these are the experiences that stick! We take our first and second graders camping for two nights in the spring and I think that one night out with fifth graders is even braver. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Two nights with first and second graders?! 😱 wow!!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. You capture the mixed emotions so well in this slice. I liked the flipping the script moment. You are correct, the kids will not forget this trip.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started