Day 13: Benington

Yesterday, after I left early for a doctors appointment, J and E (who were sitting out during PE because of injuries) found a stray tennis ball, drew a face on it, and named it Benington.

“They told the other kids that he was a new student,” Kim explained this morning. “And it was the perfect example of how rumors get started, because then all of them were asking if we were actually getting a new student.”

Sometime between yesterday and today, Benington has gained: a bed, a pillow, a blanket, and even a tiny Benington-sized book about his life. There is a poster hanging now in our classroom with a photo of him and the names of all the girls and their relationship to him (because, of course, they adopted him).

It’s moments like these when I see most clearly how fifth graders live in the hallway between adolescence and childhood. Last week, E was talking about her crush and J was showing off TikTok dances. This week, they’ve become the adoptive parents of a tennis ball!

3 responses to “Day 13: Benington”

  1. So… I teach high school, and I *love* this moment that you’ve captured. I can honestly say that nothing like this would happen where I work – from the naming to the bed to the adoption. You’ve illustrated the in-between world they inhabit in a way that I will remember for a long time. Feels like part of a middle-grade novel, almost.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I also teach fifth grade. You’re so right. But, I love that they all got into the fun creating life with a tennis ball!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. One of my favorite aspects of teaching a grade level (or two) before yours is that I get to see those kids through a different perspective, and yours always brings out something gorgeous I didn’t see before. I must say, this is my favorite slice of yours so far. I read it 3 times😍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started