Day 27: Coming Home

I remember when Miami started feeling like home.

It was after winter break my first year here, when I left New York and arrived back in the heat and humidity, going straight to the pool to thaw.

I hadn’t wanted to move to Miami, not really. I had done it for us, because we had wanted to leave New York and we had wanted to give A a chance at a career that he could be happy with.

“You’re moving to Florida?” I remember my friends saying to me in disbelief. I had felt the same way: I’m moving to Florida? Me, a liberal New Yorker who walks everywhere and loves public transit and is anti-gun and pro-choice? Florida?

“Well, not Florida, exactly,” I’d say. “Miami.”

It was like what I’d say when I’d introduce myself to people while I lived in Spain: Oh, I’m not American. I’m a New Yorker. From Manhattan.

Miami didn’t feel like home, though, not right away. It’s a transient city, with many of its residents working in nightlife and entertainment, most of its residents speaking Spanish, and the majority of its drivers believing that red lights are just a suggestion. I felt I stuck out like a sore thumb. Sometimes I still think I do.

And yet, it’s home. Home for now, at least.

I know Miami’s not where I’ll be in the long term. I hope that Miami’s not where I’ll be after next school year. Life often has other plans, though.

When we decided almost 10 months ago to call it, I didn’t expect to stay. But Miami was home. I couldn’t see myself going back to New York, and I didn’t know where else I’d go so suddenly. And then the way my community here just scooped me up and cradled me as I picked up the pieces of myself and found my way into my new life, my new apartment, was something I don’t know if I would have found anywhere else. For a transient city, some real gems have found their way here and into my life and my heart.

That will be the hardest thing when I finally do leave to go build a home somewhere else: saying goodbye to the friends I’ve made here.

Driving home from St. Augustine today, I felt the all-too-familiar, bittersweet feeling associated with trips ending: sadness that it’s over, but gladness and relief to be home.

I watched the landscape change from tree-lined highway to construction and heavy traffic, the Miami skyline appearing on the horizon, and I thought, This? This is home?

But it is.

Pulling up to my building, then dropping my bags after walking through my door, the light shining through and the warm scent of my apartment filling my lungs, I knew I was home.

7 responses to “Day 27: Coming Home”

  1. I love the way you build the nostalgia for this place you now call home. I also appreciated the honesty of the New Yorker moving south and the feelings that go along with it. We are from NJ and our son will be attending UMiami next year. Here we come!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There are many things to love about Miami! I’m sure he’ll have a blast. And I know when I do leave, there will be plenty I miss (not just my friends!).

      Like

  2. Miami will always be the place that gave me You, and for that reason, it’ll always be a bit like home to me. Let’s make sure we go someplace we only need one plane to visit each other.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😭😭 yes, please

      Like

  3. So beautifully written, with deft touches of truthful humor (“Not Florida. Miami”; “I’m not American, I’m a New Yorker…”; “‘red lights are just a suggestion”).I could feel the transitions as you describe them. I could feel Miami beginning to pull on you until you let it embrace you and you could know you were home. You leave me with a sense of peace and fulfillment, and also promise – should you move to another place, that place will be there to become home for you, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for this comment, Fran! And you’re right — any apprehension I may have about moving elsewhere one day, which I do know is coming, will melt away once that place becomes home. It’s fascinating how we are able to make so many places our homes (our childhood home, summer camp, college, first apartment after graduating…)! Perhaps that’s another post to write.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Estelle Gonzalez Avatar
    Estelle Gonzalez

    I completely agree, the people make a place feel like home! As I say goodbye to Miami, it is the people that I will miss the most!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started